HUPO presents distinguished awards annually at the World Congress.

HUPO gratefully acknowledges support of the Industrial Advisory Board, Journal of Proteome Research (ACS Publications), and Elsevier as sponsors of three of the annual awards.

View listing of past award recipients.

2014 Award Winners

Distinguished Achievement in Proteomic Sciences

Pier Giorgio Righetti

Sponsored by Journal of Proteome Research

Professor Pier Giorgio Righetti’s seminal contributions in the pre-proteomic field of separation science include the development of isoelectric focusing in soluble amphoteric buffers and in immobilized pH gradients (IPG), N-substituted polyacrilamide matrices, two-dimensional maps exploiting the IPG technology, membrane-trapped enzyme reactors operating in an electric field, temperature-programmed capillary zone electrophoresis (CZE), a variety of silica coatings for peptide/protein separations and DNA fragment analysis in CZE for detection of mutations in human genetic diseases. This research has  contributed to the advances of essential methodologies in the modern proteomic arena. He has been awarded the 1995 Consorzio Italiano di Biotecnologie Prize, the English Electrophoresis Society Award (1997) and the Milano Award (1997).

More recently, the genius and inexhaustible imagination of Prof. Righetti have given us a new strategy for proteome analysis: the combinatorial peptide ligand library (CPLL) technology. CPLL has proven the ability to explore the low- to very-low abundance proteome in biological fluids, tissue extracts, plant, food and beverage samples. Its analyte enhancement factor by three to four orders of magnitudes holds promises for biomarker discovery, a field that has suffered a decade of failures. For this seminal contribution to proteomics, Prof. Righetti has already received the 2006 CASSS Award, the Csaba Horváth Medal (2008), the Spanish Proteomics Society Award (2011), and the Arnold O. Beckman Medal (2012).

Translational Proteomics Award

Daniel W. Chan, Johns Hopkins University

Sponsored by Elsevier – Science

Professor Daniel W. W. Chan, Ph.D, DABCC, FACB is a world leader in Translational Proteomics. He is Professor of Pathology, Oncology, Radiology and Urology, and the Director of the Center for Biomarker Discovery and Translation at the Johns Hopkins University, USA. He is a diplomat of the American Board of Clinical Chemistry and a fellow of the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry. At the Johns Hopkins Hospital, he is the Director of Clinical Chemistry Division and the Co-Director of Pathology Core Laboratories.

Dr. Chan’s research focuses on the translation of proteomics discovery into clinical diagnostics. He is the inventor of OVA1 test for ovarian cancer, the 1st FDA cleared proteomic IVDMIA. When he was the Chair of the prostate cancer group at the National Cancer Institute, Early Detection Research Network, he was instrumental in the development of public-private partnerships leading to the clinical study and FDA approval of two prostate cancer tests – proPSA (phi) and PCA3 (PROGENSA).

Dr. Chan is the Editor-in-Chief of Clinical Proteomics, a journal focusing on Translational Proteomics. He has written 5 books, 40 book chapters and >275 scientific articles. He was one of USHUPO founders and is serving on the Board of Directors. He was a pioneer of the HUPO plasma proteome project with Gil Omenn when he designed and conducted the 1st HUPO plasma proteomics comprehensive global study. Dr. Chan organized and chaired the Clinical Days for the HUPO annual world congress in 2006, 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2013 with the major emphases on Translational Proteomics.

Discovery in Proteomic Sciences Award

Neil L. Kelleher, Northwestern University

Neil L. Kelleher is professor of chemistry at Northwestern University. His mass spectrometry research focuses on applications to proteomics. He is known for top-down proteomics and the development of the fragmentation technique of electron-capture dissociation working with Roman Zubarev and Fred McLafferty at Cornell University. His top-down proteomics subgroup pushes the limits for whole proteome analysis of mammalian cells and tissues, striving for a future in which top down analysis rivals that of bottom-up in the number of protein identifications per run. Recently his group has seen progress towards this very goal with the introduction of a separation platform specifically designed to minimize the most common problem in top-down proteomics, intact protein separations. This platform effectively reduces sample complexity and separates proteins depending on size, resulting in an opportunity to select the optimal analysis method for the sample.  Use of top-down proteomics in a quantitative fashion for discovery and validation of protein-based biomarkers in organ transplantation and cancers of the blood is currently being pursued to help establish the strategy as a high-value complement to bottom-up in translational research.

Science and Technology Award

Subhasish “Babu” Purkayastha, AB SCIEX
John Rogers, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Rosa Viner, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Andrew Thompson, Proteome Sciences

Sponsored by HUPO’s Industrial Advisory Board

Sponsored by HUPO’s Industrial Advisory Board (IAB) this award recognizes an individual, or team, in private industry who played a key role in commercialization of a proteomics technology, product or procedure. The emphasis for the award is on making the technology, product or procedure widely available, which is different from the basic scientific invention.

This team of four was nominated for their contributions in the commercialization of isobaric labeling compounds for use in quantitative proteomics. Both programs, ITRAQ (AB SCIEX) and TMT (Thermo Fisher Scientific and Proteome Sciences) are recognized.

Babu Purkayastha_CroppedSubhasish “Babu” Purkayastha, PhD, is Director, R &D Chemistry and Consumables  at AB SCIEX. Throughout the past two decades, Dr. Purkayastha’s has played an instrumental part in formulating AB SCIEX’s collective vision, role, and leadership in enabling protein expression analysis, quantitation, and multiplexing by mass spectrometry. He has been a key figure in the commercialization of breakthrough technologies such as ICAT, cleavable ICAT, and iTRAQ (4-plex and 8-plex), all of which have enjoyed wide use and acceptance in proteomics laboratories worldwide.

OJohn Rogers, Ph.D. is a Senior Research and Development Manager for Pierce Protein Biology products at Thermo Fisher Scientific. John leads the development of new protein mass spectrometry reagents, and he has led many internal and external collaborations for new MS standards and calibrants, protein sample preparation reagents, and reagents for quantitative proteomic analysis, including Tandem Mass Tag chemicals and enrichment reagents.


Rosa VinerRVinerphoto_crop5, Ph.D. is a Program Manager for Proteomics at Thermo Fisher Scientific. She is involved in all areas of proteomics research with specific focus on relative quantification and PTM analysis. Rosa conducted initial evaluation of Proteome Science Tandem Mass Technology and continues to develop and improve instrumental and data analysis tools for this workflow in close cooperation with Pierce MS reagent group.



Thompson_CroppedAndrew Thompson, Ph.D. is Head of Chemical Proteomics at Proteome Sciences plc. Andrew leads the development of new Tandem Mass Tag reagents. He is one of the original inventors of isobaric mass tags, with Professor Bob Johnstone at the University of Liverpool. In addition to developing isobaric tags for Proteomics, he has worked on applications of isobaric tags in the fields of Genomics and MALDI imaging.